Select Page

Simon Muzenda School Of Arts and Heritage Studies

Department of African Languages and Literature

 

About the Department

The Department is the face of culture and heritage in the institution as the languages of Africa carry the cultures that are the center of African civilizations and heritages. The Department approaches language and culture using practical methodologies that seek to transform society through teaching and research. The Department of African Languages and Literature was the first in the country to broaden the scope of African languages beyond Chishona and Isindebele by raising and developing Tshivenda and Xichangana in Zimbabwe in partnership with the University of Venda. The Department is also the pioneer in the training of interpreters and translators in the country.

Department Staff

 

Chairperson

Dr. W. Wasosa (Senior Lecturer)

DLitt [UNISA, 2015],

MA [UZ, 2007],

Grad DE [UZ, 2005]

BA Hons [UZ, (2000]

Email address: wwasosa@gzu.ac.zw

 Research Interests

Literature; Onomastics and Sociolinguistics

 

SECRETARY – Ms.  Z. Mposa

Email address: zmposa@gzu.ac.zw

Lecturers

 

 

TITLE & NAME

 

QUALIFICATIONS

 

 

CONTACT DETAILS

 

RESEARCH INTERESTS

Prof. G. Makaudze

DLitt [UNISA, 2009]

PGDE [MSU, 2003]

MA [UZ, 1998]

BA Hons [UZ, 1996]

gmakaudze@gzu.ac.zw

 

Literature, Gender and Culture and Onomastics

Dr. N. Grand

Senior Lecturer

DLitt [ UNISA, 2013]

MA [UNISA]

MA  [UZ,2004]  

BA Hons [UZ, 1986]

Grad CE [UZ, 1988]

ngrand@gzu.ac.zw

Language, Intangible Heritage Management and Culture

Dr. P. Mabaso

Senior Lecturer

DLitt [UNISA, 2013]

MA [UZ, 2007]

BA Hons [UZ, 2004]

pmabaso@gzu.ac.zw

Language Documentation

Dr. S.K. Madlome

PhD [UNIVEN ,2017]

MA[ UNIVEN ,2014]

BA HONS[ UNIVEN, 2011] BA [GZU ,2010]

Dip Educ.[ UZ ]

skmadlome@gzu.ac.zw

Sociolinguistics; Culture and IKS; Applied Linguistics

Dr. E. Mandova

Senior Lecturer

PhD [2017]

MA[UZ,2005]

BA HONS [UZ, 2002]

BA [ UZ, 2000]

emandova@gzu.ac.zw

IKS; Literature and Culture and Development

Dr. S. Ndlovu

 

Senior Lecturer

PhD [2018}

MA(African Languages and Literature) [UZ, 2007]

BA Hons (African Languages and Literature) [MSU,2004]

 

sndlovu@gzu.ac.zw

Theoretical Linguistics, Sociolinguistics and Onomastics

 

 

Dr .W. Zivenge

Senior Lecturer

DLitt [UNISA,2008] M.A. [UZ,2005]

BA Hons (African Languages & Culture) [MSU,2003]

BTech Edu Mgt [2001]

Dip Educ.[GTC, 1997]

wzivenge@gzu.ac.zw

Linguistic Heritage; Culture and IKS Applied Linguistics

Dr. F. Sibanda

Senior Lecturer

 

PhD [UNISA, 2019]

MA [MSU, 2010] 

BA Hons (UZ, 2001)

BA [UZ, 1999]

sibandaf@gzu.ac.zw

Indigenous Knowledge Systems (IKS)

Mrs. K. Choene

MA [UNIVEN ,2015]

BA HONS [UNIVEN, 2011]

BA [GZU,2010]

ksibanda@gzu.ac.zw

Literature; Culture and Onomastics

Ms. B. Lantern

Senior Lecturer

MA [MSU, 2010]

BA HONS [MSU ,2007]

GRAD DE [GZU, 2016]

blantern@gzu.ac.zw

Language Planning; Culture and Development

Mr. A. Mapindani

MA [UNIVEN ,2014]

BA [GZU, 2010]

BA HONS [UNIVEN,2011]

amapindani@gzu.ac.zw

Onomastics; Literature and Gender

Mr. M. Mazuru

Senior Lecturer

MA [UZ, 2007]

PGDE [ZOU, 2005]

BA, BA Hons [UZ, 2000]

mmazuru@gzu.ac.zw

Literature, Onomastics; Critical Theories and Culture and Development

Ms. M. Mpapa

MA [UNIVEN , 2016]

BA HONS [UNIVEN, 2011]

BA [GZU , 2010]

mmpapa@gzu.ac.zw

Sociolinguistics, Lexicography; Linguistics; Culture and Development

Mrs S. Mulea

MA [UNIVEN ,2014]

BA HONS [UNIVEN, 2012]

BA [GZU, 2010]

Dip Educ.[ UZ,2001]

 

smulea@gzu.ac.zw

 

Culture and Development; IKS and Onomastics

Ms. L. Ndlovu

Senior Lecturer

MA [UZ ,2007]

BA HONS [UZ ,2004]

lndlovu@gzu.ac.zw

Literature and Gender; IKS; Oral literature and Afrocentricity and Black Liberation thought

Ms. H.P. Shoko

MA [UNIVEN, 2015]

BA HONS [UNIVEN, 2011]

BA [GZU,2010]

 

pshoko@gzu.ac.zw

Sociolinguistics and Indigenous Knowledge Systems (IKS)

 

 

 

Share This