Munhumutapa School Of Commerce

Department of Banking and Finance

 

About the Department

Welcome to the Department of Banking and Finance.  The Banking and Finance department is the center of excellence in the academic and professional training and capacity building of practitioners in the field of finance, banking, risk management and insurance.  We offer five Honours undergraduate degree programmes namely the Bachelor of Commerce Honours Degree in Banking and Finance, Bachelor of Commerce Honours Degree in Banking, Bachelor of Honours Degree in Finance, Bachelor of Honours Degree in Financial Engineering and Bachelor of Commerce Honours degree in Risk Management and Insurance.  These degrees are also offered on part-time basis in Masvingo and Harare.  They are also available via weekend school if the class is viable.  The Department also offers Master of Commerce degree in Finance and Master of Commerce degree in Banking on a part-time basis.  It is our thrust to produce quality graduates who are fully trained to venture into entrepreneurial activities as well as competent players in the finance and banking industries.

Department Staff

 

CHAIRPERSON

Dr L Chimwai

DPhil Management [Christ University, 2016] MBA [ZOU, 2007] BSc Hons Economics [UZ, 1992]

Email: lchimwai@gzu.ac.zw

Research Interests

Small and Medium Interprises, Risk Management and Financial Inclusion

 

SECRETARY

Ms J Mushonga

ND in Secretarial [HEXCO, 1999], NC in Secretarila [HEXCO, 2002]

Email: jmushonga@gzu.ac.zw

Lecturers

 

 

TITLE & NAME QUALIFICATIONS CONTACT DETAILS RESEARCH INTERESTS
Mrs S.K. Munongo MSc  Banking and Financial Services [NUST, 2012]

B.Com Hons  Banking and Finance [MSU, 2007]

 

skmunongo@gzu.ac.zw Development finance,

Digital finance,

Inclusive finance

Mr L. Chakazamba MBA [ZOU, 2008]

Diploma Institute of Bankers of Zimbabwe

Associate IOBZ, [2000]

lchakazamba@gzu.ac.zw Credit risk management,

Corporate governance,

Payment systems

Mr E. Matanda MSc Finance & Investments

[NUST, 2008]

BSc Hons Economics [UZ,2003

Certificate in Education [Mathematics] [1998]

 

ematanda@gzu.ac.zw Micro finance,

Financial economics,

Development finance,

Investment banking

Mr T. Mashamba MSc  Finance and Investments [NUST,2012]

B.Com Hons  Finance

[GZU, 2008]
tmashamba@gzu.ac.zw Bank regulation,

Risk management,

Bank & treasury

Management

Derivatives,

Financial

Econometrics

 

Mr R. Magweva MSc Finance and Investments [NUST, 2012]

B.Com Hons  Finance [GZU, 2008]

 

rmagweva@gzu.ac.zw Stock markets

development,

Behavioural finance,

Financial Economics

Mrs D.S. Bhiza M.Com  in Business Economics [WITS,2011]

B.Com Hons  Finance

[NUST, 2004]
dsbhiza@gzu.ac.zw

 

Financial inclusion,

Credit markets,

Corporate governance

Mr F.D.  Dzapasi M.Com  Finance[GZU, 2012]

B.Com Hons  Finance

[GZU, 2008]

 

fddzapasi@gzu.ac.zw Investment banking,

Risk management,

Microfinance

Mr T. Mavaza MSc  Banking and Financial Services [NUST,2012]

Bachelor of Business Studies Hons [UZ, 1997]

 

tmavaza@gzu.ac.zw Financial regulation,

Money and capital

Markets,

Corporate governance

Mr M.  Diza M.Com  Finance [GZU, 2013]

B.Com Hons Finance

[GZU]
mdiza@gzu.ac.zw

 

Financial engineering,

Financial modelling,

Financial

econometrics,

Corporate finance and investment analysis

Miss L.C. Gumbo MSc Finance and Investment [NUST, 2012]

B.Com Hons Finance

[GZU, 2009]

Executive Diploma in Project Management, [2014]

 

lcgumbo@gzu.ac.zw Development Finance,

Structured Finance in

PPP

Mr C. Chiromba MSc  Finance and Investments [NUST, 2008]

B.Com Hons Banking

[NUST,2000]

 

cchirombagzu.ac.zw Responsible Investment,

Portifolio optimization,

Corporate governance

Mr W. Munyanyi MBA [MSU, 2010]

BBS in Finance and Banking [UZ, 2003]

wmunyanyi@gzu.ac.zw Entrepreneurship,

Small business

Management,

Supply chain

Management,

Venture financing

Mr H. Dube M.Com  Finance [GZU, 2012]

MBA [ZOU,2007]

BA Economics[UNISA, 1999]

 

hdube@gzu.ac.zw Risk management in

Microfinance,

SMEs Development

Mr N. Marime MBA [ZOU, 2011]

BSc  Statistics and Geography and Environmental Sciences [UZ, 2004]

B.Com Hons  Finance

[GZU, 2012]
nmarime@gzu.ac.zw

 

Stock market dynamics,

Financial Inclusion

Mr D. Halimani MSc  Banking and Financial Services [NUST, 2013]

B.Com Hons Finance [GZU, 2008]

dhalimani@gzu.ac.zw Corporate governance,

Financial regulation,

International finance

Dr E. Chikodza DPhil Mathematics [UZ, 2011]

MSc Mathematics [UZ, 2004]

BSc Hons Mathematics [UZ, 1996]

echikodza@gzu.ac.zw Stochastic Analysis,

Mathematics of Finance,

Uncertainty Theory