Select Page

Munhumutapa School of Commerce

 

Department of Economics

 

About the Department

Welcome to the Department of Economics. The Department evolved from two economics degrees offered under the Faculty of Commerce in 2004 (Bachelor of Commerce Economics and Bachelor of Commerce Economics and Finance degrees). It later became a cluster of Marketing and Economics Department in 2005. In 2010, it became a fully-fledged Department of Economics when the two departments of Economics and Marketing were created. The Department also offers Postgraduate programmes and it aims to excel in economics research and teaching.

The Master of Commerce degrees are offered through coursework and research, while the Doctor of Philosophy degree is done through research only, whose primary objective is training students as research economists.

Department Staff

CHAIRPERSON

Mr  J. Zivanomoyo

Email: jzivanomoyo@gzu.ac.zw

MSc in Economics (UZ), 2003

BSc Hons Economics (UZ) 2006

 

Research  Interests

Exchange rate, Economics and Financial Economics.

 

Secretary

Ms P. Chikuni

ND in Secretarial [HEXCO, 2010],

NC in Secretarial [HEXCO, 2007]

Email: pchikuni@gzu.ac.zw

Lecturers

TITLE & NAME

QUALIFICATIONS

CONTACT DETAILS

RESEARCH INTERESTS

Dr A.  Mapfumo

Doctor of Philosophy in Agricultural Economics [UFH, 2015]

MSc Agricultural Economics [UFH] 2012

BSc  Hons Economics [UZ, 2006]

 

amapfumo@gzu.ac.zw

Economic and Social policy, Investment,

Agricultural

development  

studies, Business

development,

strategy

information

Mr C. Chidoko

MSc Economics [UZ,2006],  BSc Hons Economics [UZ,2003],  PGD THE [GZU,2016], DipEd [HTC],1996]

Diploma in Higher and Tertiary Education (GZU)

cchidoko@gzu.ac.zw

 

International Trade, Economics of Regional and Emerging Issues, International and Industrial Economics, Industrialization of the developing world.

 

Mr W. Madesha

M.Com  Industrial Strategy and Trade Policy [GZU, 2012]

BSc Hons Economics

[UZ, 2006]

 

 

wmadesha@gzu.ac.zw

Agriculture

Economics, Strategic banking,

International trade,

Transport economics

Mrs R. Nyatondo

MSc  Economics [UZ,  2006]

BSc Hons Economics

[UZ, 2003]

Diploma in Higher and Tertiary Education (GZU)

rsakuhuni@gzu.ac.zw

Development  

 Economics,

International

Economics,

Industrial

economics

Mr T. Saungweme

MSc  Economics [UZ, 2007]

BSc Hons Economics [UZ, 2005]

Post Grade Diploma in Higher and Tertiary Education [GZU, 2016]

Diploma in Higher and Tertiary Education (GZU)

tsaungweme@gzu.ac.zw

Public sector

Economics,

International

economics

Dr L. N. Dhoro

PhD in Health Economics (UFS) 2019

MSc  Economics [UZ, 2010]

BSC Hons Economics [UZ, 2004]

 

lndhoro@gzu.ac.zw

 

Health Economics,

Transport Economics,

Econometric analysis and application

Dr G. Makuyana

PhD in Economics(UNISA) 2017

MSc  Economics [UZ, 2007]

BSc Hons Economics

[UZ, 2005]

 

gmakuyana@gzu.ac.zw

Economic growth,

Economic systems,

Public and private

investments

Ms S. Mufandaedza

MSc Industrial Strategy and Trade Policy [GZU, 2012]

B.Com Business Economics [UFH, 2005]

 

smufandaedza@gzu.ac.zw

Economic development

productivity growth

Mr S. Matsvai

M.Com  in Industrial Strategy and Trade Policy [GZU, 2012]

BSc Hons Economics

[UZ, 2006]

smatsvai@gzu.ac.zw

Agriculture economics,

Development economics

Mr R. Sunge

M.Com  in Industrial Strategy and Trade Policy [GZU, 2013]

B.Com Hons Economics [GZU,2010]

 

rsunge@gzu.ac.zw

International

agricultural

economics,

Productivity and

technical efficiency

analysis

Ms B. Makamba

M.Com Financial Economics (GZU)2015

MBA  (UZ) 2008

B.Com Special Hons in Accounting (GZU) 2018

BSc Hons in Economics (UZ)1999

 

bmakamba@gzu.ac.zw

Financial Economics

Share This