Munhumutapa School Of Commerce

Department of Economics

 

About the Department

Welcome to the Department of Economics. The Department evolved from two economics degrees offered under the Faculty of Commerce in 2004 (Bachelor of Commerce Economics and Bachelor of Commerce Economics and Finance degrees). It later became a cluster of Marketing and Economics Department in 2005. In 2010, it became a fully-fledged Department of Economics when the two departments of Economics and Marketing were created. The Department also offers Postgraduate programmes and it aims to excel in economics research and teaching.

The Master of Commerce degrees are offered through coursework and research, while the Doctor of Philosophy degree is done through research only, whose primary objective is training students as research economists.

Department Staff

CHAIRPERSON Mr C. Chidoko MSc Economics [UZ,2006],  BSc Hons Economics [UZ,2003],  PGD THE [GZU,2016], DipEd [HTC],1996] Email: cchidoko@gzu.ac.zw Research  Interests International Trade, Economics of Regional and Emerging Issues, International and Industrial Economics, Industrialisation of the developing world. Secretary Ms F.P. Dzingira HND in Office Management [HEXCO, 2015], ND in Office Management [HEXCO, 2013], NC in Office Management [EXCO, 2010] Email: fdzingira@gzu.ac.zw  

 

Programmes

Undergraduate Programmes

 

Postgraduate Programmes

 

Lecturers

TITLE & NAME QUALIFICATIONS CONTACT DETAILS RESEARCH INTERESTS
Dr A.  Mapfumo Doctor of Philosophy in Agricultural Economics [UFH, 2015]

MSc Agricultural Economics [UFH, 2012]

BSc  Hons Economics [UZ, 2006]

 

amapfumo@gzu.ac.zw Economic and Social policy, Investment,

Agricultural

development

studies, Business

development,

strategy

information

Mr  J. Zivanomoyo MSc  Economics [UZ, 2003]

BSC Hons  Economics [UZ,1990]

jzivanomoyo@gzu.ac.zw

 

Exchange rate

Economics

Financial Economics

Mr W. Madesha M.Com  Industrial Strategy and Trade Policy [GZU, 2012]

BSc Hons Economics

[UZ, 2006]

 

 

wmadesha@gzu.ac.zw Agriculture

Economics, Strategic banking,

International trade,

Transport economics

Mrs R. Nyatondo MSc  Economics [UZ,  2006]

BSc Hons Economics

[UZ, 2003]

 

rsakuhuni@gzu.ac.zw Development

Economics,

International

Economics,

Industrial

economics

Mr T. Saungweme MSc  Economics [UZ, 2007]

BSc Hons Economics [UZ, 2005]

Post Grade Diploma in Higher and Tertiary Education [GZU, 2016]

tsaungweme@gzu.ac.zw Public sector

Economics,

International

economics

Ms L. N. Dhoro MSc  Economics [UZ, 2010]

BSC Hons Economics [UZ, 2004]

 

lndhoro@gzu.ac.zw

 

Health Economics,

Transport Economics,

Econometric analysis and application

Mr G. Makuyana MSc  Economics [UZ, 2007]

BSc Hons Economics

[UZ, 2005]

 

gmakuyana@gzu.ac.zw Economic growth,

Economic systems,

Public and private

investments

Ms S. Mufandaedza MSc Industrial Strategy and Trade Policy [GZU, 2012]

B.Com Business Economics [UFH, 2005]

 

smufandaedza@gzu.ac.zw Economic development

productivity growth

Mr S. Matsvai M.Com  in Industrial Strategy and Trade Policy [GZU, 2012]

BSc Hons Economics

[UZ, 2006]
smatsvai@gzu.ac.zw Agriculture economics,

Development economics

Mr R. Sunge M.Com  in Industrial Strategy and Trade Policy [GZU, 2013]

B.Com Hons Economics [GZU,2010]

 

rsunge@gzu.ac.zw International

agricultural

economics,

Productivity and

technical efficiency

analysis