Select Page

Robert Mugabe School of Education and Culture

 

Department of Educational Foundations

About the Department

The Educational Foundations Department endeavors to promote excellent teaching and learning through the production of knowledgeable and culturally-oriented teachers.  The Department offers postgraduate programmes like Master of Education Early Childhood Development, Master of Education Psychology, Master of Education Philosophy, Master of Education Sociology and Post Graduate Diploma in Higher and Tertiary Education.  In undergraduate programmes, the Department teaches Bachelor of Education Honours Early Childhood Development Pre-Service, Bachelor of Education Honours Early Childhood Development In-Service, Bachelor of Education Honours Educational Leadership and Management, Bachelor of Education Honours Sociology, Bachelor of Education Honours Psychology, Bachelor of Education Honours Philosophy.

 

Department Staff

CHAIRPERSON 

Mr. S. Nenji

M.Ed. [Philosophy] [UZ, 2006], B.Ed. [UZ, 2002], Dip. Ed. [MTC, 1994]

Email address: snenji@gzu.ac.zw

 

Research interests

Philosophy for Children, Teacher Education, Multicultural Education, Human Rights and Education, History of Education

 

SECRETARY – Mrs. M. Sithole

B.Sc [Hons] Degree [Sociology] [GZU, 2016]

National Diploma in Secretarial Studies [Masvingo Polytechnic College, 2008]

National Certificate in Secretarial Studies [Masvingo Polytechnic College, 2005]

Email address: msithole@gzu.ac.zw

Lecturers

 

TITLE & NAME QUALIFICATIONS CONTACT DETAILS RESEARCH INTERESTS
Prof. R. Mugweni PhD.  Education Policy Studies [UP, 2012], M.Ed.  Early Childhood Education [UNC, 2002], B.Ed. Early Childhood Education [UZ, 1996], C.E. [UZ, 1983]

rmugweni@gzu.ac.zw

 

Contemporary Issues in Early Childhood Education, Child Development, Gender Issues, Education Policy, Vulnerable Children, HIV and AIDS Issues, Parenting Issues
Dr M. Kufakunesu

D.Ed [Psychology of education][UNISA, 2015],

M.Ed [Educational Psychology] [GZU, 2008], B.Ed [Maths] [UZ, 2000], Dip.Ed. [UZ, 1995]

 mkufakunesu@gzu.ac.zw

 

 

Adolescent

Psychology, Guidance And Counselling, Assessment And Evaluation, Psychology Of Mathematics Education

Mrs. P. Chikunda

 

M.Ed. Educational Sociology [MSU, 2009], B.Ed. English [UZ, 1995], C.E. [B.T.C. 1991], Certificate in Social Work [UZ, 2011]

pchikunda@gzu.ac.zw

 

Deviance, Gender Issues In Education

Mr. C. Dekeza

 

M.Ed  Sociology [UZ, 2005], B.A. Gen Sociology and Religious Studies [UNISA, 2001], CE.[Sec] [GTC, 1989]

 cdekeza@gzu.ac.zw

 

Gender and education, Curriculum issues, OVC and education
Mr. D. Ndhlula M.Ed [ECD] [UZ, 2007], B.Ed [ECD] [MASU, 2005], Dip. Ed. [UZ, 2000]

 dndhlula@gzu.ac.zw

 

Policy issues in ECD, DAP in ECD,

Mr. A. Chingombe

 

M.A. Philosophy [UZ, 2004], B.A. Hons Philosophy and Religious Studies [UZ, 2000],

Dip. Adult and Continuing Education [GZU, 2010], Dip. Ed. [UZ, 1995]

  achingombe@gzu.ac.zw

 

Higher Education, Citizenship education

Mrs L. Chindanya.

 

M.Ed  Educational Psychology [MASU, 2006], B.Ed [Biblical Studies and Shona] [UNISA, 2002], C.E., [Umtali Trs’ College, 1987]

lchindanya@gu.ac.zw

 

Inclusive education- punishment
Mrs S.I. Chingombe M.Ed Educational Psychology [GZU, 2010], B.Ed. [GZU, 2006], Dip. Ed. [BTC, 2001], NC in Clothing Technology, HEXCO

schingombe@gzu.ac.zw

 

Learning in higher education, Contemporary issues in education, Special Needs Education
Mr. T. I. Chinooneka M.E.d Educational Administration [UZ,1995], B.Ed. Geography [UZ, 1992], C.E. [BTC, 1985] tchinooneka@gzu.ac.zw Education Policy, Education Management Issues, Information and Technology Issues
Prof. K. Chinyoka D.Ed. Psychology [UNISA, 2013], M.Ed. Educational Psychology [GZU, 2008],    BSc.  Geography & Environmental Studies [ZOU, 2002], Dip.Ed. [G.T.C, 1993] kchinyoka@gzu.ac.zw Human Development, Poverty and Gender Issues in Education, Contemporary Issues on child  abuse, domestic violence, HIV/AIDS, Learning of Orphans and Vulnerable children, Cross Cultural Psychology
Mr. W. Chitumba M.Ed Educational Foundations [UZ, 1999], B.A. Hons Philosophy [UZ, 1992], Grad. C.E. [UZ, 1995]

wchitumba@gzu.ac.zw

 

Ubuntu Values and The New Curriculum
Mrs T.M .Dhlomo M.Ed. ECD [UZ, 2007], M.Ed. Educational  Administration, Planning and Policy Studies [UZ, 2001], B.Ed. ECD [UZ, 1996], C.E. [UZ –  Seke Teachers’ College, 1983]

   tdhlomo@gzu.ac.zw

 

 

Contemporary Issues in Early Childhood Education, Child Development, Education Policy, WASH, Inclusive education
Ms L. Phiri M.Ed. ECD [UZ, 2009], B.Ed. ECD  [MASU, 2005], Nursery Nursing Certificate [NNEB, UK, 1985], ECE Training of Teachers [St Mary ELC, ZIM] dubel@gzu.ac.zw Early childhood development issues, Early childhood curriculum, Culture and early childhood development
Mrs C. Dzimiri M.Ed. Educational Sociology [MSU, 2009], B.Ed. [ZOU 2000], C.E. [Morgenster teachers’ College, 1989]

cdzimiri@gzu.ac.zw

 

Gender and other contemporary issues in education.
Prof. E. Ganga D.Ed. Psychology of Education [UNISA, 2013], M.Ed. Educational Psychology [UZ, 2003], B.Ed. [UZ, 1999], C.E [GTC 1983]

eganga@gzu.ac.zw

 

Human Learning and Development from early childhood to adolescence, Marginalised populace eg. OVC in CHH, Issues in HIV/AIDS, Gender and Poverty, Guidance And Counselling, Assessment and Evaluation
Mr. T. Hlupo M.Ed. Psychology [MASU, 2006], B.Ed. [UZ, 2002], C.E. [UZ, 1988] thlupo@gzu.ac.zw Human Learning and Development from early childhood to adolescence, Contemporary Issues on child  abuse, domestic violence, HIV/AIDS, Learning of Orphans and Vulnerable children, Assessment And Evaluation, Psychology Of Mathematics Education
Mrs V.Ingwani M.Ed. Educational Psychology [MSU, 2007], B.A. English & Communication Studies [ZOU, 2003], C.E. [BTC, 1991) vingwani@gzu.ac.zw Gender and Education, Religion and Education, Psychosocial Issues in Education
Mr. T. Madzivadondo M.Ed.  Educational Foundations [Philosophy] [UZ, 2004], Grad. CE. [UZ, 1998], B.A. [UZ, 1991] tmadzivadondo@gzu.ac.zw Philosophy and Education, Ubuntu Philosophy, Human Rights Education,  Philosophical schools of thought
Dr S. Magwa D.Ed. Psychology [UNISA, 2015], M.Ed. Educational Psychology [MSU, 2007], B.A. English and Communication Studies [ZOU, 2003], C.E. [Andrew Louw ZINTEC College, 1984] smagwa@gzu.ac.zw Child and adolescent development, Child abuse, Community Psychology, Gender issues, Guidance and Counseling
Mrs E. Makasi

M.Ed. Psychology [UZ, 2004], M.Ed. ECD [UZ, 2010], Dip. Ed [Masvingo

Teachers College,1994], B.Ed. ECD [UZ, 1999]

emakasi@gzu.ac.zw

 

 

Contemporary  Issues in ECD
Ms R. Mashava M.Ed. Educational Foundations [Sociology] [UZ, 2003], B.A. [UZ, 1992], Grad. C.E.  [UZ, 2000]

rmashava@gzu.ac.zw

 

Higher education and Policy, Education and development, Policy sociology
Mrs S. Moyo M.Ed. Educational Psychology [MSU, 2007], Licentiate in Education  in Biology  [Enrique Jose Varona Cuba, 1998]

smoyo@gzu.ac.zw

 

Assessment And Evaluation, Psychology Of Mathematics Education, Child abuse, Community Psychology, Gender issues, Guidance and Counseling
Prof. B. J. Siyakwazi PhD. Philosophy [Rutgers the State University, 1979], M.Ed [Tufts University, 1975], B.Ed. [Hons] History [Lincoln University, 1974], License Certificate to teach Social Studies [Mass, 1975], Primary Teachers’ Higher [PTH] [Morgenster 1958] profbjsiyakwazi@gmail.com History of Education, Philosophical Issues in Education, Contemporary Issues in Early Childhood Education, In Search of Approaches for Effective Teaching
Mr. S. Vurayai M.Ed. Sociology [GZU,2009], B.Ed. [GZU, 2005], Dip. Ed. [MTC, 2000] svurayai@gzu.ac.zw Sociology of poverty, Sociology of knowledge and the curriculum, Gender Studies, Rural sociology, Mathematics Education
Dr. D. Madzanire D.Ed. Socio-   Education [UNISA, 2016], M.Ed. Sociology [GZU, 2009], B.Ed. [GZU, 2005], Dip. Ed. [UZ, 1997], Grade 5 Certificate in Theory of Music [UNISA]

dmadzanire@gzu.ac.zw

 

Multicultural education, Education and cultural conflict in diversity, Sociology of Music, Contemporary social problems

 

 

 

Share This

Share this post with your friends!