Select Page

Simon Muzenda School Of Arts and Heritage Studies

Department of English and Media Studies

ABOUT THE DEPARTMENT

The English and Media Studies Department houses three sections, English Literature and Applied communication and Media Studies. The Department currently offers the following degree programmes: English and Applied Communication, a programme that combines the study of Literature and Applied Communication as essentially cultural exercises, Media and Cultural Studies which essentially is a skills-based programme that offers practical modules which provide students with hands-on exposure to the media industry and a Masters in Literary Studies which provides students with a comprehensive understanding of the socio-cultural function of creative literature.  Since its inception, the Department has striven to combine theoretical and vocational training in their course offerings and this will continue into the future.

Chairperson        

Ms. E. F. Hove

M.A (Communication & Media Studies) [UZ, 2008], PGD (Communication & Media Studies) [ UZ, 2006], B.A ( English &Communication [Solusi ,2002]

Email address: ehove@gzu.ac.zw

Research Interests

Gender and the Media, New Media and Reception Studies

 

SECRETARY – Ms. S. Murombo

NC (Secretarial Studies) [Masvingo Polytechnic, 2002]

Email address: smurombo@gzu.ac.zw

Lecturers

 

TITLE & NAME

 

QUALIFICATIONS

 

 

CONTACT DETAILS

RESEARCH INTERESTS

 

Prof. K.Z. Muchemwa

 

 

PhD (English) [Stellenbosch, 2013]

MA (English( [UR, 1976]

BA Hons [UR, 1974]

Grad CE [ UZ, 1984]

 

kmuchemwa@gzu.ac.zw

Postcolonial and Diaspora Literatures;

City identities, cultures and literatures

Zimbabwean and Southern Africa literatures

 

Dr. T. Mangena

 

PhD (English) [Lieden, 2015]

MA ( English) [ UZ, 2007]

BA Special Hons (English) [ UZ, 2005]

 

 

 

 

tmangena@gzu.ac.zw

Postcolonial theories and cultures, specifically African and Zimbabwean cultures;

Postcolonial literature, specifically Zimbabwean literatures

Dr. T. Moyo

PhD (English) [UNISA, 2019]

MA  (English) [UZ ,2005]

BA Hons (English)[ UZ,1994]

 

tmoyo@gzu.ac.zw

Zimbabwean Literature;

IKS

Mr. A. Mushati

MA (English) [UZ, 2003],

 BA Hons (English) [UZ, 2000]

 

 

amushati@gzu.ac.zw

 

Zimbabwean Literature, Film, Democracy and Development, Creative Writing, Creative Industries, Literary Onomastics

 

Mr. T. Ngwenya

MA( English) [LSU, 2008]

MA (English)[ UZ, 2002]

BA Special Hons [UZ ,1996]

BA [ UZ, 1991]

Grad CE[ UZ, 1997]

tngwenya@gzu.ac.zw

Gender and Ethnicity

Mr. G. Maunganidze

MSc (Media and Society Studies) [MSU, 2012]

BSc Hons (Media and Society) [ MSU,2008]

gmaunganidze@gzu.ac.zw

Journalism and New Media

Mr. P. Chiwewe

MSc( Media and Society Studies)  [MSU ,2011]

BSc (Media and Society Studies) [ MSU , 2004]

pchiwewe@gzu.ac.zw

Media;

Language and Citizenship;

New Media and Reception Studies

Ms. K. Muchetwa

MSc (Media and Society Studies,) [MSU, 2016]

BSc Hons (Media and Society) [MSU, 2014]

kmuchetwa@gzu.ac.zw

 

Media and Social identities;

Post-Colonial Theories and the Media;

Media and Democracy

Mr. L. Alfandika

Msc (Media & Society Studies) [MSU,2014]

BA (Communication Studies) [ZOU,2007]

BA Special Hons (Communication and Media Studies)[ ZOU , 2013]

Postgraduate Diploma ( Public Relations) [NUST , 2012]

Cert. (Training Methods) [ZPSC, 2005]

 

llfandika@gzu.ac.zw

Media Policy and Regulations;

Media and Democracy

 

Ms. E. Mavengano

MA in Applied English Linguistics[MSU]

BA Hons English and Media Studies [GZU]

Grad CE English and Home Economics [GZU]

emavengano@gzu.ac.zw

Linguistics and Literary studies

Share This