Select Page

Simon Muzenda School Of Arts and Heritage Studies

Department of Performing and Visual Arts

About the Department

The Department is in the School Of Arts Culture and Heritage Studies. It is enrolling a variety of degree programmes including the Master of Arts Music. The Department’s vision is to sustain Music as an academic and professional discipline through the training of competent personal equipped with relevant knowledge and skills in research and performance practices. The programmes are meant to implant a strong theoretical and practical knowledge for professionalism, addressing life challenges and academic pursuit.

Department Staff

Chairperson                                   

Mr. R. Ngara

MA (Music Ethnomusicology) [UFH, 2012], BA Hons (Music) [UFH, 2010], Diploma (Music) [MAM, 2006], Diploma (Education) [MTC, 1999]

Email address: rngara@gzu.ac.zw

Research Interests

Gender Studies in Ethnomusicology, Indigenous Music Arts

 

SECRETARY – Mrs.  Z. Phiri

ND (Secretarial Studies) [Masvingo Polytechnic, 1995], NC (Secretarial Studies) [Masvingo Polytechnic, 1993]

Email address: zphiri@gzu.ac.zw

Lecturers

 

TITLE & NAME

QUALIFICATIONS,

 

CONTACT DETAILS

RESEARCH INTERESTS

Dr. J. Rutsate

 

PhD (Music) [UKZN, 2011] MA [RU, 2007]

BA Hons (Music & Musicology) [RU, 1998]

BEd.  (Music) [UZ, 1995]

Cert (Education)

[ MTS ,1979]

jrutsate@gzu.ac.zw

Indigenous Musical Arts

Ms P. Zinhuku

 

MA (Music Applied Ethnomusicology) [UKZN, 2014],

 BSSc Hons (Music & Musicology) [ MSU, 2007]

makuyanap@gzu.ac.zw

Preservation and performance of indigenous music and dance; Indigenous knowledge systems embodied in musical arts practices

Ms. J. Yule

 

MA( Dramatic Arts)

 [Wits,2012]

BA Hons (Theatre Arts) [UZ,2010]

BA [ UZ, 2009]

jyule@gzu.ac.zw

Community participation in theatre initiated projects

Sr. C. Machingura

 

MA (Ethnomusicology) [UKZN,2015]

BSSc Hons  (Music & Musicology) [ MSU ,2011]

 Dip Educ [GTC,1999]

cmachingura@gzu.ac.zw

Indigenous musical Arts

Mr. S. Dzingayi

 

BSSc Hons  (Music & Musicology) [ MSU, 2012]

sdzingayi@gzu.ac.zw

Popular music.

Share This