Simon Muzenda School Of Arts, Culture And Heritage Studies

Department of Philosophy and Religious Studies

 

About the Department

Welcome to the Department of Philosophy and Religious Studies. The Department is made up of two sections that is, Philosophy and Religious Studies. The programmes offered in the Department are: BA Honours in Religious Studies and Philosophy, BA Honours in Religious Studies, BA Honours in Philosophy, Diploma in Religious Studies and Philosophy.

 

Department Staff

Chairperson              

Mr. J. Mukusha

MA,(Philosophy) [UZ, 2006], BA Hons,(Philosophy) [UZ, 2002], Cert in Educ, [UZ,1991], International Human Rights Exchange (IHRE) [UCT & Bard College University of New York,2001]

Email address: jmukusha@gzu.ac.zw

Research Interests

African Philosophy and Pan Africanism, Human Rights, Social and Political Philosophy,

Epistemology, Education and Business Ethics

 

SECRETARY – Ms.  D. Tarusikirwa

BCom Hons (Office Management)[GZU,2014], ND (Secretarial Studies) [Harare Polytechnic, 2004]

Email address: dtarusikirwa@gzu.ac.zw

 

 Programmes

Programme Duration Entry Requirements
Bachelor of Arts Honours Degree in  Religious Studies Four (4) years

 

Normal Entry

Applicants should be holders of at least 5 ‘O’ levels at Grade C or better, including English Language plus at least 2 ‘A’ levels passes.

Special Entry

a)At least 5 0’Level passes at Grade C or better including English Language.

b)Holders of relevant Diplomas and relevant working experience as well as recommendation letter from the employer or other referees will also be considered

 

Bachelor of Arts Honours Degree in Religious Studies and Philosophy
Bachelor of Arts Honours Degree in Philosophy

 

Lecturers

 

TITLE & NAME

 

QUALIFICATIONS

 

 

CONTACT DETAILS

 

RESEARCH INTERESTS

Prof. F. Sibanda

 

DPhil (Arts) [UZ,2015]

MEd ( Philosophy) [GZU ,2010]

MA (Religious Studies) [UZ ,1999]

BA Special Hons ( Religious Studies) [UZ,1996]

BA [ UZ,1993]

Grad DE [ UZ,2000]

 

fsibanda@gazu.ac.zw

 

New Religious Movements

Rastafari;

African Spirituality;

Land Question;

Indigenous ways of knowing

Human Rights;

Religion and Law;

Religion and the Environment in the African context

Prof. M. Mawere PhD [ UCT, 2014]

MA( Dev Studies) [GZU, 2017]

MA (Soc  Anth)  [UCT ,2015]

MA (Philosophy)[ UZ ,2004]

BA Hons (Philosophy) [UZ ,2002]

Cert (Diplomacy, Negotiation & Bargaining) [UNASA & UCT ,2013]

Cert (Teaching Methods for Higher Educ) [UP , 2009] Cert ( Portuguese) [ RCH, 2006]

Cert ( IT) [ VU & UZ, 2001]

 

mmawere@gzu.ac.zw

 

African Studies;

Development and Poverty Studies;

Cultural Philosophy;

African Philosophy;

De-coloniality

 

Dr. E. Chireshe DLitt et Phil (Religious Studies) [UNISA ,2013]

MA (Religious Studies)[ UZ ,2006]

BA Hons (Religious Studies) [UZ,1992]

Grad CE. [UZ, 1997]

echireshe@gzu.ac.zw

 

Gender-based violence and religion;

Religion and Ethics;

Sociology of Religion

 

 Dr. E.G.  Konyana DPhil (Ethics) [UKNZ ,2017]

MA (Philosophy ) [UZ , 2008]

BA Special Hons [ UZ ,2006]

PGDE [ZOU ,2002]

BA [UZ ,1994]

 

ekonyana@gzu.ac.zw Philosophy (Ethics);

African Culture and Ethics; Gender-based Violence, Law and Ethics

Dr. D. Masaka D Litt et Phil (Philosophy) [UNISA, 2016]

MA (Philosophy)[ UZ, 2003]

BA Hons (Philosophy & Religious Studies) [UZ ,2001]

 

dmasaka@gzu.ac.zw African philosophy;

Philosophy of liberation; Moral Philosophy

Dr. E.T. Gwaravanda DLitt et Phil (Philosophy) [UNISA , 2016]

MA (Philosophy) [UZ, 2004]

BA Hons (Philosophy) [ UZ , 2002]

 

egwaravanda@gzu.ac.zw African Philosophy;

Philosophy of Education

Dr. M. Chemhuru

 

 

DLitt et Phil(Philosophy) [UJ , 2016]

MA (Philosophy) [UZ, 2007]

BA Special Hons (Philosophy) [UZ, 2004]

BA [ UZ ,2003]

 

mchemhuru@gzu.ac.zw African Philosophy
Dr. P. Mazambara DTh  [Hamburg ,1999]

MA (Religious Studies) [ UZ,1990]

BA Hons (Religious Studies)  [UZ,1988]

pmazambara@gzu.ac.zw

 

Biblical studies (New testament);

African Christianity;

African Religiosity (Mwariology)

Dr C. Chibango

 

PhD (Canon Law) [UUR, 2002]

MA (Canon Law ) [UUR, 1999]

MA (Development Studies) [UKZN,  2009]

BA Hons (Religious Studies, [UZ ,1992]

Dip (Philosophy) [Chishawasha, 1989]

cchibango@gzu.ac.zw Religious and social policies and practices in contemporary development societies
Dr. E. Dube DPhil (Religious Studies) [UZ,(2003]

MEd (Philosophy)[ GZU ,2010]

MA (Religious Studies) [ UZ ,1996]

BA Special Hons ( Religious Studies) [UZ,1993]

PGDE [ ZOU,2002]

BA [ UZ ,1992]

 

edube@gzu.ac.zw Religion and Health; Religion and Heritage; Church, Justice and peace; Interreligious dialogue
Dr. R. Wuriga PhD (Philosophy) [UKN ,2004]

ThM. ( Theology/Religion) [NW, 2000]

MA (Philosophy) [NW ,1999]

ThB. (Theology/Religion), [NW ,1998]

BA Hons (Philosophy)[ NW ,1997]

BA [NW,1995]

rwuriga@gzu.ac.zw Philosophy of Science

Philosophy of Religion

Dr. E.  Masitera

 

DPhil (Philosophy) [UP, 2017]

MA (Philosophy) [UZ ,2008]

BA Hons (Philosophy) [AC ,2004]

 

emasitera@gzu.ac.zw

 

African Philosophy;

Contemporary Philosophy

Rev. N. Madzokere MA (Religious Studies) [ UZ ,2000]

BA Hons. (Religious Studies) [UZ ,2003]

Dip (Religious Studies) [UZ ,2000]

Dip (Theology) [BTSZ ,1999]

nmadzokere@gzu.ac.zw Old Testament Biblical Prophecy

Contemporary Prophecy; Bible and Contemporary Issues;

Contextualization of the New Testament

 

 Mr. T. Marevesa, MA (Religious Studies) [UZ ,2006]

BA Hons (Religious Studies)   [UZ,1999]

Grad CE [UZ ,2002]

 

tmarevesa@gzu.ac.zw Bible and Politics;

Pentecostal Expressions in Zimbabwean Christianity; Gender based Violence; Bible and Conflict resolution in the Zimbabwean Political landscape

Rev. P. Muzambi MA ( Religious Studies) [ UZ ,2006]

BA Hons [ UZ ,2003]

Dip(Religious Studies) [ UZ ,2000]

Dip (Philosophy)  [Chishawasha, 1997]

 

pmuzambi@gzu.ac.zw

 

Religion and Citizenship

Religion;

Politics and human rights

Mr. B.P Humbe MA (Religious Studies) [UZ ,2005]

BA Hons (Religious Studies) [UZ ,2003]

Grad DE [UZ, 2007]

Dip ( Religious Studies) [UZ ,1999]

 

 

bhumbe@gzu.ac.zw Traditional Religion in modern Society of Zimbabwe;

Onomastics;

Traditional Law and Social Development;

Religion and Entrepreneurship;

Religion and Social Transformation, and Religion and Power.