Select Page

Julius Nyerere School of Social Sciences

 

Department of Sociology and Social Anthropology

About the Department

Welcome to the Sociology and Social Anthropology Department in the Julius Nyerere School of Social Sciences. The Department offers five pragrammes, which are, Bachelor of Science Honours Degree in Sociology, Bachelor of Science Honours Degree in Social Anthropology, Bachelor of Science Honours Degree in Peace, Conflict and Governance, Bachelor of Science Honours Degree in Social Ecology, the multidisciplinary Master of Science Degree in Demography and Population Studies as well as Doctor of Philosophy degrees in the above subject areas. These dynamic programmes prepares candidates with requisite knowledge, intellect and competences to meet challenges in the contemporary world.

Department Staff

CHAIRPERSON

Dr. M. Sibanda

DPhil (Social Anthro) [UFH, 2011], BSc Hons. (Agric Animal Sc) [UZ, 1992], Advanced Postgrad. Certi (Environment and Dvt) [UKZN, 2004], PGDHTE [GZU, 2017], Cert. (Mgt) [Zimbabwe Institute of Management, 2001]

Email address: msibanda@gzu.ac.zw

Research interests

Environmental Issues, Gender and Disaster Management

 

SECRETARY – Mrs. S. Makuyana

BCom Hons. (Bus. Management) [GZU, 2015], HND (Office Management) [2007]

Email address: srugara@gzu.ac.zw

Lecturers

 

TITLE & NAME QUALIFICATIONS

 

CONTACT DETAILS RESEARCH INTERESTS
Dr. E. Madzudzo DPhil (Int. Dev. Studies) [Roskilde University, Denmark, 2000]

MPhil (Social Studies) [UZ,

1996]

MA (Dev. Studies) [UZ, 1989]

BSc Hons. (Socio & Social Anthro) [UZ, 1986]

emadzudzo@gzu.ac.zw Food systems Research, Innovation Policy, Natural Resource Governance,

Ethnicity

Mr. L. Chirenje Master of Advanced Studies

(Human Ecology) [University

of Brussels]

Master of Human Eco [Uni of

Brussels]

BA Hons. (Edu) [AU]

lchirenje@gzu.ac.zw Tourism, Ecotourism, Sustainable Energy Issues, Livelihoods, Resource Management
Mr. M. Chuma MSc. (Sociology & Social Anthro.) [UZ, 2005]

BSc Hons. (Sociology) [UZ]

Dip (Educ.) [UZ]

mchuma@gzu.ac.zw Gender issues, migration Livelihoods, Labour, sexuality
Mrs. J. W. Chitotombe MSc (Social Ecology) [UZ, 2007]

BSc Hons. (Socio.) [UZ, 2004]

 

jchitotombe@gzu.ac.zw Industrial ecology, Environmental policy issues, Environmental management and protection
Mr. G.T. Mutangi MSc (Socio. & Social Anthro) [UZ, 2010]

BSc Hons. (Socio.) [UZ, 2008]

gmutangi@gzu.ac.zw Livelihoods, Sexuality, Religion, indigenous knowledge systems
Mr. L. Nhodo MSc (Socio. & Social Anthro) [UZ, 2008]

BSc Hons. (Sociology) [UZ,2007]

lnhodo@gzu.ac.zw Forced displacements, Rural and Urban Livelihoods and Human Security
Dr. S. Gukurume PhD (Sociology) [UCT, 2018]

MSc (Socio. & Social Anthro.) [ UZ, 2010]

BSc (Sociology) [UZ, 2008]

sgukurume@gzu.ac.zw Pentecostalism and politics, Student activism, Consumerism
Dr. C. Dube MSc (Socio. & Social Anthro) [UZ, 2008]

BSc (Sociology) [UZ, 2006]

cdube@gzu.ac.zw Migration, Pentecostalism, Urban governance
Mr. H.S. Basure MSc (Socio & Social Anthro) [UZ, 2010]

BSc (Sociology) [UZ, 2008]

hbasusre@gzu.ac.zw Medical anthropology, Anthropology of Religion, Alternative contemporary healing systems
Mr. J. Taru MSc (Socio & Social Anthro) [UZ, 2010]

BSc (Sociology) [UZ, 2008]

jtaru@gzu.ac.zw Sexualities, Pentecostal Charismatic Christianity, Anthropology of money and consumption, ideologies and worldviews
Dr. O. Mafongoya DPhil (Rural Resource Management) [UKZN, 2018]

MSc (Socio & Social Anthro) [UZ, 2011]

BSc (Sociology) [UZ, 2007]

omafongoya@gzu.ac.zw Indigenous knowledge and climate change, gender and climate change, rural livelihoods and agriculture.
Mrs. K. Dube MSc (Socio. & Social Anthro) [UZ, 2010]

BSc Hons. (Socio. & Social Anthro) [WUA, 2005]

 

kdube@gzu.ac.zw Vulnerability, Gender, Public Health, Environment, Development
Mr. J. Tagarirofa MA (Dvt. Studies) [UWC, 2011]

BSc Hons. [GZU, 2008]

PGDHTE [GZU, 2017]

jtagarirofa@gzu.ac.zw Gender and development, Development Policies, Conflict and Violence, Religion and Inequalities, Peace and Governance, Elections and Participatory Democracy
Mr. T. Museva MA (Env.  Pol. & Planning) [UZ, 2012]

BA Hons. (Geo) [UZ, 2004]

PGDHTE [GZU, 2017]

tmuseva@gzu.ac.zw EIA, Management of veld fires, Remote Sensing of Greenhouse gases, GIS and Remote Sensing Applications in Environmental Management, Agriculture and the Environment
Mr. O. Rusinga Msc (Pop Studies) [UZ, 2008]

BA Hons. (Geo.) [UZ, 2005]

orusinga@gzu.ac.zw Socio-economic aspects of child health and nutrition, Population dynamics and sustainable development, Human development and capability, Disability and development
Share This