Robert Mugabe School Of Education

Department of Teacher Development

 

About the Department

The Department of Teacher Development strives to be a department of excellence in the development of innovative pre-service teachers who are well versed in culturally relevant pedagogics. The Department also strives to utilise technology in teaching and learning. The Department offers Bachelor of Education Honours degree (Secondary) pre-service and Bachelor of Education Honours degree (primary) preserve. In these programmes some international students from countries such as Namibia and South Sudan also enroll. International students with post-secondary qualifications below A Level go through a bridging programme first.

 

Department Staff

CHAIRPERSON

Dr. S. Madusise

D.Ed. Mathematics [TUT, SA 2013], M.Ed. Science and Mathematics [UZ, 2005], PGD Science Education [UZ, 2003], B.Ed Mathematics [UZ, 1998], C.E. [G.T.C, Sec 1985]

Email address: smadusise@gzu.ac.zw

Research interests

Mathematics and Culture Contextualisation of Mathematics teaching.

SECRETARY – Ms. P. Muziti

National Diploma in Secretarial Studies [Masvingo Polytechnic, 2012]

Person Friday Course [Ranche House College, 2009]

Email address: pmuziti@gzu.ac.zw

 

Programme
Duration
 Entry requirements
Bachelor of Education Honours [Primary] Pre-Service Four (4) years conventional At least five (5) O level passes including English Language.
At least two (2) A level passes.
Bachelor of Education Honours [Secondary] Pre-Service Four (4) years conventional At least five (5) O level passes including English Language.
At least two (2) A level passes.

Lecturers

 

TITLE & NAME QUALIFICATIONS CONTACT DETAILS RESEARCH INTERESTS
Mr. D. Gamira M.Ed. Curriculum Studies [MASU, 2003], B.Ed. Agriculture [UZ, 1992], C.E. [GTC, 1984], Cert.  Agriculture [Mlezu Institute of Agriculture, 1983]

 

dgamira@gzu.ac.zw

 

 

 

Environmental Education learning Psychology and learning science.
Mr. T. Kaela M.A. Religious Studies [UZ, 2001], B.A. Special Hons. Religious Studies [UZ, 1997], B.A Gen. [UZ, 1983], Grad.C.E. [UZ, 1985]

 

tkaela@gzu.ac.zw

 

 

Religion, Cultural Beliefs, Morden testament, Religious and Moral Education
Dr L. Manwa D.Ed. Psychology [UNISA, 2016], M.Ed. Textiles, Clothing and Design[UZ, 2006], B.Ed. Home Economics [UZ, 1996], C.E. [GTC, 1986]

 

lilianmanwa@gzc.zw

 

 

 

Nutrition, dress designs and textile education
Dr.  L. Manwa D.Ed. Socio-Education [UNISA, 2017], M.Ed.  Technical Education [Human Nutrition] [UZ, 2010], B.Ed. [Home Economics] [UZ, 2004], Dip. Ed. [MTC, 1994]

 

locadiamanwa@gzu.ac.zw

 

 

Community nutrition vulnerable groups and education.
Mr. S. Mataruse M.Ed.  Teacher Development [UZ, 2014], B.Ed. Music [UZ, 2005], Dip. Ed. [Morgenster Teachers College, 1999]

 

smataruse@gzu.ac.zw

 

 

Developing music literacy through indigenous songs and transmitting cultural identity in schools through locally performed songs.
Mr. P. Mateveke M.Ed. Curriculum Studies [MASU, 2003], B.Ed. Biology [UZ, 1986], Sec.Trs’ Cert. [Gwelo Teachers College, 1975]

 

pmateveke@gzu.ac.zw

 

 

Medicine ,Biology Education, Curriculum issues
Dr.  J. Mudekunye D.Ed.  Curriculum Studies [UNISA, 2017], M.Ed. Curriculum Studies [MASU,  2006], B.Ed. [UZ, 2001], C.E. [Andrew Louw ZINTEC College, 1987]

 

jmudekunye@gzu.ac.zw

 

 

Physical Education including gender issues in Physical Education and current trends and issues.
Dr. T. Mudyahoto D.Ed. Educational Psychology [UFH, 2017], M.Ed. Educational Psychology [MASU, 2006], B.Ed. [MASU, 2001], Dip.Ed.[UCE, 1997], C.E. [Marymount Teachers College, 1991]

 

tmudyahoto@gzu.ac.zw

 

Inclusivity in Physical Education & sport in mainstream schools.
Dr. T. Mufanechiya D.Ed. Curriculum Studies  [UNISA, 2015], M.Ed. Curriculum Studies [MASU, 2003], B.Ed.  [UZ, 1992], Grad.C.E. [UZ, 1997]

 

tmufanechiya@gzu.ac.zw

 

 

Curriculum Innovation, Design, Planning
Mr. C. Mukandi M.Ed. Teacher Education [UZ, 2011], B.T.E. [Hons] Applied Art and Design [NUST, 2006], Dip. Ed. [GTC, 1998], ND. Textile Design [Bulawayo Polytechnic, 1996], NC. Applied Art and Design [Bulawayo Polytechnic, 1992]

 

cmukandi@gzu.ac.zw

 

 

Instructional media ,Art and Design Education, Landscaping
Mr. T. P. Mutsambi M.Ed. Teacher Education [UZ, 2001], B.Ed. Philosophy [Newcastle Upon Tyne University, 1983], T3 TC. [St Pauls’ Teachers’ College, 1976]

 

tpmutsambi@gzu.ac.zw

 

 

Instructional media ,Art and Design Education, Landscaping
Dr. G. T. Ndamba D.Ed. Didactics [UNISA, 2014], M.Ed. Teacher Education [UZ, 1999], B.A. [UNSA 1981], T3 TC, [Umtali Teachers’ College, 1976]

 

gtndamba@gzu.ac.zw

 

 

Professional Issues in Education, ECD INFANT Education, Language Policy
Mrs C. Ngwaru M.Ed. Curriculum  Studies [MASU, 2003], B.A. Gen. [UNISA, 1999], C.E. [Mutare Trs’ College, 1982]

 

cngwaru@gzu.ac.zw

 

 

Teaching and learning of English as a second language at primary and secondary school levels.
Mr. M. Nhamo M.Ed. Teacher Education [UZ, 2012], B.Ed. Music [UZ, 2005], Dip.Ed. [Mkoba Trs’ College, 1997]

 

mnhamo@gzu.ac.zw

 

 

Music, Dance and Song, Organology, Public Performance
Mrs T. Nyoni M.Ed. Curriculum and Arts Education [UZ, 2000], B.Ed. Shona [UZ, 1995], C.E. [GTC, 1990]

 

tnyoni@gzu.ac.zw

 

 

Sociolinguistics, Language and Gender, Oral Literature, translation issues and contemporary issues in Education.

 

Mr. J.C. Sithole M.Ed. English as a Second Language [UZ, 1990], B.Ed. English and History [UZ, 1980], Grad. C.E [UZ, 2002]

 

jsithole@gzu.ac.zw

 

 

English language, Literature, role of women in literature
Mrs E. Viriri M.Ed. Curriculum and Arts Education [UZ, 2007], B.A. Gen. [UZ, 2000], Grad. D.E. [UZ, 2005]

 

eviriri@gzu.ac.zw

 

Languages-Shona Education, Culture and language
Ms C. Zvobgo M.Ed. Languages [ChiShona] [GZU, 2016], MBA [MSU, 2014], B.Ed. Shona, [MSU, 2006], Dip.Ed. [Mutare Teachers College, 1998] zvobgoc@gzu.ac.zw

 

Shona Language Education, Translation