Jairosi Jiri Centre For Special Needs Education

 

About the Department

The Jairos Jiri Centre for Special Needs Education focuses on developing teachers for pupils with disabilities and other special educational needs. The Centre also provides support services for Great Zimbabwe University students with special educational needs. It is an arm of the Robert Mugabe School of Education and Culture. The Centre derives its operation from the Zimbabwean legend Jairos Jiri who was the first Black person to establish support services and special schools in Zimbabwe.

 

Department Staff

 

Prof. M. Musengi

Prof. M. Musengi

Chairperson

DPhil. [Wits, SA, 2014], M.Ed. Psychology with Special Needs Education [UZ, 2003], B.Ed [UZ, 1999], C.E. Special Needs Education [UZ, 1988], C.E. [Morgenster, 1985]

Email address: mmusengi@gzu.ac.zw

Research interests

Deaf and Special Inclusive Education

Ms. N. Ndomoro

Secretary

HND in Office Management [Masvingo Polytechnic College, 2011]

National Diploma in Secretarial Studies [Masvingo Polytechnic College, 2008]

National Certificate in Secretarial Studies [Masvingo Polytechnic College, 2005]

Email address: nndomoro@gzu.ac.zw

Lecturers

 

TITLE & NAME QUALIFICATIONS CONTACT DETAILS RESEARCH INTERESTS
Mrs. L Chirombe

 

M.Ed. Special Needs Education [Manchester University,1989], DAES [University of Newcastle Upon Tyne, 1988], C.E. T4 Teacher [UCE, 1971]

 

lchirombe@gzu.ac.zw

 

Inclusion, Performance Lag Address Programme, Parental involvement
Ms. K. Mudita

 

M. Sc.   Special Education [ZOU, 2012], B.A. [ECS] [ZOU, 2012], B.Ed. Special Needs Education [MASU, 2006], C. E. [Mkoba, 1990] kmudita@gzu.ac.zw

 

 

Physical and Motor Disabilities, Mental Retardation, Gifted and Talented Education, Orphans and Vulnerable Children

 

Mr. A. Manyowa

 

M.Ed. Special Needs Education [University of Manchester, 1990], DASE [University of Manchester, 1989], T3 [St Paul Musami, 1976] amanyowa@ygzu.ac.zw

 

 

Gifted and Talented Education, Intellectual Disabilities, Rehabilitation and Transition of Children and Youth with Disabilities, Orphans and Vulnerable Children

 

Mr. F. A. Dakwa

 

M.Ed. Special Education [University of Wales, 1983], B.A. [UNISA, 1976], C.E. [UZ, 1969], Dip. Special Education [UNISA, 1980]

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

fdakwa@gzu.ac.zw

 

 

Inclusion of children with visual impairment in the mainstream, Language development in children with hearing impairments, HIV and AIDS awareness, Poetry, Early Childhood Development (ECD), Inclusion of learners with disabilities
Mrs. P. Muvirimi

 

MPhil. SNE [Oslo, 2002], B.Ed. Special Needs Education [UZ, 1997], C.E.  [UCE, 1999], C.E.  [Mkoba, 1983] pmuvirimi@gzu.ac.zw

 

Hearing Impairment, Health Related Disabilities, Language Development in Deaf Children, Inclusive Education, Vocational Educational
Mrs. P. Mutumburanzou

 

M.Ed.  Special Needs Education [GZU, 2012], B.Ed. Special Needs Education [UZ, 2003], B. Tech [Technicon Pretoria, 1999], C.E. [UCE, 1986], T3 Infant [Umtali Teacher’s College, 1976] pmutumburanzou@gzu.ac.zw

 

 

Hearing Impairment