Robert Mugabe School Of Education

Department of Curriculum Studies

About the Department

The Curriculum Studies Department strives to promote high quality teaching and learning through the development of practising teachers. The Department envisages the production of efficient, knowledgeable and culture anchored teachers. The Department offers postgraduate programmes like Master of Education Curriculum Studies, Master of Education Languages [ChiShona/Ndebele and English], and Graduate Diploma in education. In undergraduate programmes, the Department teaches Bachelor of Education Primary, Bachelor of Education Secondary and Bachelor of Education Secondary – Bridging Programme.

Department Staff

 

CHAIRPERSON

Dr. K. Mapetere

PhD History Instructional Leadership [UFS, 2015], M.Ed. Curriculum Arts Education [UZ, 2007], B.Ed.  [Solusi, 2002], Dip. Ed.[Mutare Teachers College, 1996]

Email address: kmapetere@gzu.a.zw

Research interests

Curriculum Issues in History

 

 

SECRETARY – Mrs. S. Mugura

B.Com [Hons] Degree [HR and Industrial Relations] [RCU, 2016]

National Diploma in Secretarial Studies [Masvingo Polytechnic College, 2002]

Email address: smugura@gzu.ac.zw

 

 

SECRETARY – Ms. L. Chabuda

B.Com Degree [Human Resources Management] [ZOU, 2008]

HND in Office Management [Masvingo Polytechnic College, 2005]

National Diploma in Secretarial Studies [Masvingo Polytechnic College, 2001]

National Certificate in Secretarial Studies [Masvingo Polytechnic College, 1999]

Email address: lchabuda@gzu.ac.zw

Programme
Duration
 Entry requirements
Bachelor of Education Honours [Primary] In-Service -Two (2) years Conventional At least five (5) O level passes including English Language.
At least one (1) A level subject in the intended area of specialization.
A teaching certificate or diploma at primary school level.
At least two (2) years of post training educational experience.
Bachelor of Education Honours [Secondary] In-Service -Two and half (2½) years Block Release At least five (5) O level passes including English Language.
At least one (1) A level subject in the intended area of specialization.
A teaching Certificate or Diploma at secondary school level.
At least two (2) years of post training educational experience.
Graduate Diploma in Education -One (1) year Conventional
-Two (2) years Block Release
A first degree of this university or any other relevant degree recognized by this University.
A minimum of one (1) year experience in approved educational work such as teaching, curriculum work and educational administration.
Master of Education Languages -One and half (1½) years  Conventional
-Two (2) years Block Release
A Bachelor of Education degree in a relevant area of specialization from this University or its equivalent from a reputable institution with a minimum pass of a lower second (2.2).
A relevant degree and a Graduate Certificate in Education of this University or any other institution with a minimum pass of lower second (2.2)
A minimum of one (1) year experience in approved educational experience.
Master of Education Curriculum Studies -Two (2) years Block Release A Bachelor of Education degree of this University or any other degree from a recognized institution with a minimum of a lower second (2.2).
A first degree with a minimum of lower second (2.2) and a  Graduate Certificate in Education/ Post Graduate Diploma in Education.

Lecturers

 

TITLE & NAME QUALIFICATIONS CONTACT DETAILS RESEARCH INTERESTS
Mr. T.  Bhala M.Ed. Curriculum and Arts English [UZ, 2001], B.A. [Hons] English [UZ, 1985], Diploma in Curriculum Arts and Education [UZ, 1996],  Grad.C.E [UZ, 1992]

 

tbhala@gzu.ac.zw

 

English Literature
Mr. C. Bhebe M.Ed. Curriculum & Art  Education  [Ndebele] [UZ, 2001], B.Ed  [UZ, 1993], C.E. [Mkoba Teachers College, 1987]

 

cbhebe@gzu.ac.zw

 

Language Interference
Mrs S. Chademana M.A. Applied Linguistics [MSU, 2015], B.A. English and Communication  Studies [ZOU, 2004], B.A. Special Hons Communication  and Media Studies, [ZOU, 2014], C.E. [UCE 1986], PGDHTE [GZU, 2017]

 

schademana@gzu.ac.zw

 

Communication Studies
Mr. P. Chifamba MSc. Mathematics [UZ, 2004], BSc. Hons. Mathematics [UZ, 2001],  B.Ed.  Mathematics [UZ, 1988],

C.E. [GTC, 1985]

 

pchifamba@gzu.ac.zw

 

Maths Education
Mrs H. Chigwida M.Ed. Curriculum & Arts Education [UZ, 2000], B.Ed. History [UZ, 1995], C.E. [UZ, 1990]

 

hchigwida@gzu.ac.zw

 

Curriculum Theory  and issues
Mrs W. Chindedza M.Ed. English [UZ, 2007], B.Ed. [UZ, 2002], C.E.  [Belvedere Trs’ College, 1992]

 

wchindedza@gzu.ac.zw

 

English language Curriculum issues
Mr. L. Dube M.Ed. Curriculum and Arts Education Ndebele [UZ, 2010], B.A [Hons] African Languages and Culture [MSU, 2004], Dip. Ed.  [Hillside Teachers’ College, 1996]

 

ldube@gzu.ac.zw

 

Languages
Dr. D.D. Dziwa PhD. Art Education [NWU, 2016], M.Ed. Teacher Education Art and Design Education [UZ, 2007], M.Ed. Educational Psychology [GZU, 2006], B.Ed. Teacher Education [UZ, 2003], Dip. Ed. [MTC, 1996]

 

dddziwa@gzu.ac.zw

 

Art Education
Mr. T. K. Gondo M.A. Languages & Literature [UZ, 1998], B.A. Dual Hons.  African Experience ChiShona [UZ, 1985], Grad.C.E. [UZ, 1987],

Certificate in Personal Management 1994

 

ktgondo@gzu.ac.zw

 

Language Education Indigenous,

Language Raising linguistics

Prof. J. Gonye PhD. English Literature [Univen, 2015], M.A. English [UZ, 2000], B.A. [Hons] English [UZ, 1990], Grad. C.E. [UZ, 1993]

 

jgonye@gzu.ac.zw

 

English Literature
Mr. R.  Gunhu M.Ed. Technical Education [Human Nutrition][UZ, 2007], B.Ed. [UZ, 2000],  Diploma in Training Management  [IPMZ, 2003], C.E. [Belvedere Teachers College, 1991]

 

rgunhu@gzu.ac.zw

 

Food and nutrition Education
Dr.N. Jinga PhD. Vocational Technical Education [UFS, 2016], M.Ed. Technical Education Textiles, Clothing and Design Technical [UZ, 2006], M.Ed.  Curriculum Studies [UZ, 2003], B.Ed. [UZ, 1998],  C.E. [Morgenster, 1981]

 

njinga@gzu.ac.zw

 

Vocational Technical Education
Mr. W. Kadodo M.Ed. Curriculum and Arts [UZ, 2001], B.A. English and Shona [UZ, 1990], Diploma in Curriculum and Arts [UZ, 1996], Grad. C.E. [UZ, 1991]

 

wkadodo@gzu.ac.zw

 

Language teaching
Ms L. Madungwe M.Ed. Science and Mathematics Education [UZ, 2007], BSc. degree [UNISA, 1997], B.Ed. Mathematics degree  [UZ, 1981], C.E. [GTC, 1979]

 

ldsmadungwe@gzu.ac.zw

 

Maths Education
Ms. P.  Mahundi M.Ed. Technical Education [Human Nutrition] [UZ, 2009], B.Ed. Home Economics [UZ,2003], Diploma in Education [M. T.C, 1996]

 

pmahundi@gzu.ac.zw

 

Food and Nutrition Education
Dr. S. Magudu D.Ed. Didactics [UNISA, 2015], M.Ed. Curriculum Studies and Arts [UZ, 2001], B.Ed. History [UZ,1988], C.E. [University of Bristol, 2001] Smagudu@gzu.ac.zw

 

Teacher Education
Dr. J. Makaye PhD. Instructional Leadership Curriculum Issues [UFS,2015],

MPhil. Curriculum Policy, Development and Management [NMMU, 2006], B.Ed. Educational Administration and Policy Studies [UZ, 1997], C.E.  [MTC, 1979]

 

jmakaye@gzu.ac.zw

 

Curriculum Studies
Mr. E. Makwara M.Sc.EPP [UZ, 2003], B.A. Special Hons. Geography [UZ, 1996], B.A. [UZ, 1985], Grad. C. E. [UZ, 1987]

 

ecmakwara@gzu.ac.zw

 

Geography and environmental issues
Dr. L. Mandiudza PhD.  Curriculum studies  Vocational  Technical Education [UFS, 2016], MEd. Curriculum Studies [UZ, 2003], B.Ed. [UZ, 1989], T3 Trs’ Cert. [Morgenster Trs’ College, 1977]

 

lmandiudza@gzu.ac.zw

 

Curriculum Issues  in Vocational Education
Mr. F. Mapako M.Ed. Curriculum and Arts Education [UZ, 2008], B.Ed. [UZ, 2005], B.Ed. Management degree [Pretoria Technikon, 2001], Dipl. Ed. [G.T.C. 1994] fpmapako@gzu.ac.zw

 

English and Communication Studies
Mr. J. Marashe M.A. Religious Studies [UZ, 1997], BA. Special [UZ, 1994], Grad. C.E. [UZ, 1992]

 

jmarashe@gzu.ac.zw

 

Religious and Moral Studies Education
Dr. R. Mareva PhD English Literature [Univen, 2016], M.Ed. Curriculum Studies and Arts English [UZ, 2003], B.Ed. English [UZ, 1998], C.E. [GTC, 1990]

 

rmareva@gzu.ac.zw

 

English and Communication Studies
Mr. D. Mashoko M.Ed. Science and Mathematics Education [Chemistry] [UZ, 2005], PGD. Science Education [UZ, 2003], B.Ed. Chemistry [UZ, 2001], Dip. Ed. [UZ, 1995]

 

dmashoko@gzu.ac.zw

 

Indigenous knowledge systems
Dr. M. Mazuruse D.Lit.Phil. African Languages [UNISA, 2015], M.A. African Languages & Literature Shona [UZ, 2010], M.A. African Languages [UNISA, 2010], B.A. [Hons] Shona and Religious Studies [UZ, 1991], Grad.C.E. [UZ, 1993]

 

mmazuruse@gzu.ac.zw

 

Language  Education and issues ChiShona
Mr. E. Mhaka MPhil. Religious Studies [UZ, 2005], B.A. [UZ, 1984], Grad. C. E. [UZ, 1986]

 

emhaka@gzu.ac.zw

 

Traditional Religious Issues
Mr. J. Moyo M.Ed. Curriculum and Arts Education [English] [UZ, 2007], B.Ed. English [UZ, 2003], Dip. Ed. [G.T.C, 1995]

 

jmoyo@gzu.ac.zw

 

English and Communication Studies, Literature
Dr. N.  Moyo PhD History [UJ, 2016], M.Ed. Curriculum and Arts Education [UZ, 2003], B.Ed [UZ, 1993], C.E. [HTC, 1989]

 

nmoyo@gzu.ac.zw

 

History Education
Dr. J. Mswazie PhD. Curriculum Theory [NMMU, 2015], MPhil.  Curriculum Policy, Development & Management [UPE, 2003], B.A. Religious Studies and Shona [UZ, 1983], Grad.C.E. [UZ, 1985]

 

jmswazie@gzu.ac.zw

 

Curriculum issues
Dr. B Mudzanire PhD. African Languages [UNISA, 2017], M.Ed. Shona [UZ, 2007], BSc. Geography & Environmental Studies [ZOU, 2004], B.Ed. Shona [UZ, 2003], Dip. Ed. [GTC, 1993]

 

bmudzanire@gzu.ac.zw

 

Language Issues and Afro-centrism
Mr. A.  Mufanechiya M.Ed. Curriculum Studies [MASU, 2006], B.A. [UZ, 1988], PGDCE [UZ, 1999], Grad.C.E. [UZ, 1990]

 

amufanechiya@gzu.ac.zw

 

Curriculum Issues
Mr. G. Munyaradzi M.Ed. Educational Administration, Planning and Policy Studies [ZOU, 2007], M.Ed. Music  [Shenandoah University, 2010], B.A. English and Music [AU, 2003]

 

Gmunyaradzi@gzu.ac.zw

 

Music education and Religious practices
Mrs I. Mupfumira M.Ed. Teacher Education [Textiles Clothing] [UZ, 2007], B.Ed. Home Economics [UZ, 1987], C.E. [GTC, 1977]

 

imupfumira@gzu.ac.zw

 

Clothing and textiles Education
Mr. J. G. Mupondi M.Ed. Teacher Education Art and Design [UZ, 2006], B.Ed. Art and Design Education [UZ, 1999], Dip. Ed. [HTC, 1994]

 

jgmupondi@gzu.ac.zw

 

Art Education
Mr. T. Mutonhori M.A. Religious Studies [UZ, 1988], B.A.]Hons] Religious Studies [UZ, 1987], Grad.C.E. [UZ, 1991]

 

tmutonhori@gzu.ac.zw

 

Religious and Moral Education Studies
Mr. J. Muzangwa M.Ed. Science and Mathematics [UZ, 2012], Licentiate in Education [Mathematics] [Enrique Jose Verona, Cuba, 1993], BSc. Special Hons. Mathematics [UZ, 1999]

 

jmuzangwa@gzu.ac.zw

 

Maths Education
Mr. M. Nyoni M.Ed. Curriculum & Arts Education English [UZ, 2000], B.Ed. English [UZ, 1995], C.E. [UZ, 1990]

 

mnyoni@gzu.ac.zw

 

English Literature
Prof. S. Nyota D.Lit.Phil. African Languages [UNISA, 2008], M.A.  [UNISA, 2001], B.A. [Hons] African Languages [UNISA, 1997], B.A. General [UZ, 1983], Grad. C.E.  [UZ, 1988] snyota@gzu.ac.zw

 

Language and literature
Mr. J. Risiro M.Ed. Science and Mathematics Education [Geography] [UZ, 2009], B.A. [Hons] Geography [UZ, 1992], Grad. C.E.  [UZ,1995] Jrisiro@gzu.ac.zw

 

Geography and Environmental issues
Mr. C. Rubaya M.Ed. Curriculum & Arts [English] [UZ, 2007], B.Ed. English [UZ, 2003], Dip. Ed. [GTC, 1996]

 

crubaya@gzu.ac.zw

 

Language and English Literature
Mr. E. Rurinda M.Ed. Science & Mathematics Education [Biology] [UZ, 2005], BSc. Special Hons. Biological Science [UZ, 2002], Licentiate in Education [Biology] [Enrique Jose Verona, Cuba, 1992], Postgraduate Diploma in Science Education [UZ, 1999]

 

erurinda@gzu.ac.zw

 

Biology  Education
Ms E. M. Sibanda M.Ed. Curriculum and Arts Education [Ndebele] [UZ, 2001], B.Ed. Ndebele  [UZ, 1993], C.E. [GTC, 1985]

 

emsibanda@gzu.ac.zw

 

Language and Religious matters
Ms D.T. Tshuma M.Ed. Science and Mathematics Education [Geography] [UZ, 2007], B.Ed. Geography  [UZ, 1996], C.E. [HTC, 1991]

 

dttshuma@gzu.ac.zw

 

Geography and Environmental Issues
Mr. W. Zimidzi M.Ed. Teacher Education [Music] [UZ, 2006], B.Ed. [Music] [UZ, 2002], C.E. [UCE, 1984] wzimidzi@gzu.ac.zw

 

Music Education