Select Page

Gary Magadzire School Of Agriculture And Natural Sciences

 

Department of Physics, Geography and Environmental Science

About the Department

The Department of Physics Geography and Environmental Science is a fusion of two disciplines in Earth Sciences. The Physics area offers programmes to enlighten students on the physical aspects of the universe leading to an understanding of those principle which have lead to the current technological developments driving industry and the economy. The Geography and Environmental programme is an integrated field of study designed to provide professional training and develop students capable to address research problems regarding environmental issues and resource management.

Department Staff

 

CHAIRPERSON – Mr. B. Mapurisa

MSc (Physics) [UZ, 2004], BSc Spec Hons (Physics) [UZ, 2000], BSc Gen [UZ, 1999]Email address – bmapurisa@gzu.ac.zw

Research interests

Renewable energy

 

Secretary – Mr. S Zakaria

National Diploma in Secretarial Studies, Masvingo Poly, 2010

Email address : szakaria@gzu.az.zw

 

SENIOR LABORATORY TECHNICIAN- Mr. A. Chikomba

-BSc Hons (Applied Physics) [NUST, 2003]Email address : achikomba@gzu.ac.zw

 

 

Senior Laboratory Technician-Mr. L. Sayunyama

Msc Chemistry [UZ ,2019] , Bsc Honours in Chemistry [ 2017]

Email address : lsaunyama@gzu.ac.zw or lawrencesaunyama@gmail.com

Research interest: Water Treatment , Air Treatment and Nanotechnology          

 

Senior Laboratory Technician-Mr A. Dube

Msc Applied Microbiology and Biotechnology (NUST) 2012, Bsc Honours Biological Sciences ( MSU) 2005

Email : adube@gzu.ac.zw

Research interest : Microbiology

 

UNDERGRADUATE DEGREE PROGRAMMES

  • Bsc Honours Degree in Geography and Environmental Science
  • Bsc Honours Degree in Physics
  • Bsc Special Honours Degree in Geography and Environmental Sciences
  • Bsc Special Honours Degree in Physics

 Lecturers

TITLE & NAME

QUALIFICATIONS

 

EMAIL ADDRESS RESEARCH INTERESTS
Prof. J. Mapira

–  PhD (Environmental Education) [Stellenbosch, 2014]

– MSc [UB,1997]

– BA (Geography and English) [UZ,1982]

– Grad C.E [UZ,1984]

 jmapira@gzu.ac.zw

Environment and Pollution’

Land degradation,

Urbanisation and its challenges,

Agricultural geography,

Clinmate change and sutenable development

Dr. E. Chazireni

-PhD (Geography)  [UNISA 2014]

– MA (Geography) [UNISA, 2003]

– BA Hons (Geography) [UNISA, 1998]

– BA (Geography & Economics) [UNISA ,1993]

– Post Grad Dipl (Education) [ZOU, 2001]

echazireni@gzu.ac.zw

Environmental Health,

Medical Geography,

Economic and Developmental Geography

Dr. T.Chigonda

– PhD (Environmental Management) [UKZN,2014]

– MA (Environmental
Policy and Planning )

[UZ, 2003]- BA Spec Hons (Geography)      [UZ, 2001]

tchigonda@gzu.ac.zw

Water resources management,

Biodiversity conservation,

Urban environmental management,

Climate change mitigation

Mr. T. Murwendo – MA (Environmental
Policy and Planning) [ UZ ,2004]- BA Hons (Geography) [UZ ,1989]- Grad. C.E[ UZ, 1992]
tmurwendo@gzu.ac.zw

Spatial Ecology,

Urban Forestry,

Climate Change,

Resilience & Adaptability

Mr. H. Zinhiva -MA (Environmental
Policy and Planning) [UZ,  2007]- BA SpecHons (Geography)  [UZ,2003]
– BED (Geography) [UZ 1998]- Dip Educ (Geography & Economics) [UZ, 1994]
hzinhiva@gzu.ac.zw

Natural Resource Management,

Indigenous Knowledge Systems and Biodiversity Management,

Cultural Tourism

Mr. B. Mapurisa

-MSc (Physics) [UZ, 2004],

-BSc Spec Hons (Physics) [UZ, 1999],

– BSc Gen [UZ, 1995]

bmapurisa@gzu.ac.zw Renewable Energy
Mr. L. Seyitini

– MSc (Applied Physics) [UZ ,2004 ]

– BSc Hons (Physics) [UZ, 2000]

lseyitini@gzu.ac.zw

Renewable Energy,

Climate Issues

Mr. B. Mudzengi – MSc (Environmental
Policy and Planning) [UZ, 2008]- B.A Gen (Geography, Archaeology
and History) [UZ, 1997]-  B.A Spec Hons (Geography) [UZ, 2005]
bmudzengi@gzu.ac.zw

Ecotourism,

Environmental Assessment

Soil Pollution

Mr. D Chikodzi -MSc ( Environmental Policy and
Planning ) [UZ,2007]- BAHons (Geography)        [UZ, 2005]

dchikodzi@gzu.ac.zw

 

Remote Sensing

GIS,

Water,

Wildfire Monitoring

Mr. L. Chapungu – M.A (Environmental
Policy and Planning) [UZ, 2007]- B.A Hons (Geography) [UZ, 2005]
lchapungu@gzu.ac.zw

Biodiversity,

Climate Change

Ms. N. Ngaza – MSc (Polymer
Science) [Stellenbosch, 2014]- Hons degree (Polymer Science) [Stellenbosch, 2012]-BSc Deg [UFH, 2011]
nngaza@gzu.ac.zw Polymer Synthesis and Characterization
 Mr. Mutowo Godfrey

– MPhil (Geography) [UZ, 2011]]

– BSc Hons (Geography) [UZ, 2005]

gmutowo@gzu.ac.zw

GIS and remote sensing,

Spartial Analysis,

Spartial Ecology,

Biogeography

Mr. F. M.  Simba – MSc (agricultural
Meteorology) [UZ, 2010]- BSc Hons (Physics) [UZ,2006]
fsimba@gzu.ac.zw

Climate change,

Environment Physics

Mr. J. Chayangira – MSc (Agricultural
Meteorology) [UZ, 2010]- BScHons  (Applied Physics)[ NUST, 2002]
jchayangira@gzu.ac.zw

Microclimate,

Renewable Energy

Mr.M. Mabhegedhe  – MSc (Molecular and
Cell Biology) [Wits, 2012]
– BSc Hons (Applied Biology and
Biochemistry) [NUST, 2007]
mmabhegedhe@gzu.ac.zw

Bio-fuels

Bioremediation

Phytoremediation

Water treatment

Ethnobotany

Agric biotechnology

Share This